SEPT (Settlement and Education Partnerships in Toronto) Services

We provide settlement services in the following schools:

 AY Jackson SS Beverly Glen JPS Brebeuf College Churchill PS
 Crestview PS Cummer Valley MS Donview MH&W Academy Earl Haig SS
 Forest Manor PS George S. Henry Academy Georges Vanier SS Highland MS
 Kingslake PS Lillian PS Loretto Abbey CSS McKee PS
 Newtonbrook SS Pleasant PS Pleasant View JHS RJ Lang E&MS
 Steelesview PS Sir Ernest MacMillan SPS St. Joseph Morrow Park CSS St. Timothy CS
 Willowdale MS Woodbine MS Yorkview PS Zion Heights MS
 Arbor Glen PS Avondale Elementary AS Avondale Secondary AS Avondale PS
 Brian PS Bridlewood JPS Cameron PS Cherokee PS
 Chester Le JPS Claude Watson School for the Arts Cliffwood PS Cresthaven PS
 Dallington PS Don Valley MS Drewry SS Ernest PS
 Fairglen JPS Finch PS Fenside PS Hillmount PS
 JB Tyrrell SPS Lescon PS Lester B Pearson ES Muirhead PS
 North Bridlewood JPS North East Year Round Alternative Centre Pineway PS Rene Gordon H&W Academy
 Roywood PS Seneca Hill PS Shaughnessy PS Sir John A Macdonald CI
 Sir Samuel B Steele JPS Three Valleys PS Vradenburg JPS Blessed Sacrament CS
 Blessed Trinity CS Holy Redeemer CS Cardinal Carter Academy for the Arts Our Lady of Guadalupe CS
 St. Agnes CS St. Antoine Daniel CS St. Cyril CS St. Edward CS
 St. Gabriel CS St. Gerald CS St. Kateri Tekakwitha CS St. Margaret CS
 St. Matthias CS St. Paschal Baylon CS    

(Revised: January 2019)

Services are provided in the following languages:

 Arabic Cantonese Dari Farsi
 Hebrew Hindi Korean Mandarin
 Russian Sindhi Tagalog Ukrainian
 Urdu      

 

Name of Settlement Worker Phone Number Email address
 Sophie Yang
(Mandarin)
647-888-1494 sophie.yang@cicscanada.com
 Blaise Cabanban
(Tagalog)
416-455-8641 blaise.cabanban@cicscanada.com
 Carol Ye
(Mandarin and Cantonese)
647-999-6397 carol.ye@cicscanada.com
 Faheze J. Hayes
(Farsi and Dari)
647-999-8623 fahezej.hayes@cicscanada.com
 Iona Seo
(Korean)
647-999-6012 iona.seo@cicscanada.com
 Iris Iskander
(Arabic)
647-999-1679 iris.iskander@cicscanada.com
 Jane Wu
(Mandarin and Cantonese)
647-881-1043 jane.wu@cicscanada.com
 Jawed Akhter
(Urdu, Hindi and Sindhi)
647-999-3106 jawed.akhter@cicscanada.com
 Yasmin Mahmoud
(Arabic)
647-999-6320 yasmin.mahmoud@cicscanada.com
 Sue Kim
(Korean)
416-455-8531 sue.kim@cicscanada.com
 Svetlana Kravchenko
(Russian and Ukrainian)
647-999-9385 svetlana.kravchenko@cicscanada.com
 Tanya Yousufi
(Farsi and Dari)
647-999-6820 tanya.yousufi@cicscanada.com
 Theresa Peng
(Mandarin and Cantonese)
647-888-6062 theresa.peng@cicscanada.com
 Vera Kaganov
(Russian and Hebrew)
647-999-5340 vera.kaganov@cicscanada.com

Reception Centre: 416-395-9384

For further information, please contact -

Sandy Chiang
SEPT PROGRAM MANAGER
Phone (416) 292-7510 ext. 303 / (647) 999-7640
E-mail: sandy.chiang@cicscanada.com

Mabel Chow
SEPT & SERVICE STATISTICS ADMINISTRATOR
Phone (416) 292-7510 ext. 301
E-mail: mabel.chow@cicscanada.com

Susan Zhou
SEPT ADMIN ASSISTANT
Phone (416) 292-7510 ext. 113
E-mail: susan.zhou@cicscanada.com

Year Round services at Georges Vanier Newcomers Reception Centre:

The Reception Centre has multilingual staff that can assist newcomer students and their families. Newcomer families will also have a chance to meet at the Reception Centre with a Settlement Worker, who can give them information on settlement topics such as finding housing, looking for employment, accessing health care in Ontario, and connecting with a variety of support agencies. Ali secondary students must make an appointment with the Reception Centre by telephone. Contact Georges Vanier Reception Centre at 416-395-9384.

SEPT Services During Summer:

A. In Libraries:

During the summer when schools ore closed, SEPT workers are placed in public libraries, where newcomers are likely to encounter them.

B. In School:

1) Newcomer Orientation Week (NOW)

The Newcomer Orientation Week program provides orientation to newly-arrived high school students. Over three and-a-half days in the last week of the summer. the students are oriented to their school by Peer Leaders-students who were newcomers in recent years.

2) Welcome and Information for Newcomers (WIN}

The Welcome and Information for Newcomers program was developed to help newcomer teens entering middle school (grades 6-8). WIN uses some of the same programming elements as NOW but is one day instead of four. Whereas NOW is a full orientation to high school, WIN is a basic introduction intended to build a positive foundation for parents and students to interact with the school and settlement worker. Peer leaders are also central to WIN, helping demonstrate elements in the program and to build friendsh ips with the newcomer students.